search image
Advanced Search
X
Advanced Search
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
On Hand
Available to Order
Hollow Fires
  • Samira Ahmed
  • ISBN: 9780316282642
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Pub Date: 05/2022
  • Pages: 416
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Young Adult Age:
  • Price: $18.99
Description View

A powerful, gripping YA novel about the insidious nature of racism, the terrible costs of unearthing hidden truths, and the undeniable power of hope, by New York Times bestselling author Samira Ahmed. Perfect for fans of Sadie and Dear Martin.

Safiya Mirza dreams of becoming a journalist. And one thing she's learned as editor of her school newspaper is that a journalist's job is to find the facts and not let personal biases affect the story. But all that changes the day she finds the body of a murdered boy.

Jawad Ali was fourteen years old when he built a cosplay jetpack that a teacher mistook for a bomb. A jetpack that got him arrested, labeled a terrorist--and eventually killed. But he's more than a dead body, and more than "Bomb Boy." He was a person with a life worth remembering.

Driven by Jawad's haunting voice guiding her throughout her investigation, Safiya seeks to tell the whole truth about the murdered boy and those who killed him because of their hate-based beliefs.

This gripping and powerful book uses an innovative format and lyrical prose to expose the evil that exists in front of us, and the silent complicity of the privileged who create alternative facts to bend the truth to their liking.

Genres & Subjects View
At Our Warehouse
Available to Pre-Order

Ported to Drupal by Drupalizing, a Project of More than (just) Themes. Designed by Zsolt Kacso

Story & Song Neighborhood Bookstore Bistro
1430 Park Avenue :: Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
(904) 601-2118
© 2020 Story & Song Neighborhood Bookstore Bistro